Tags

, , , , , ,

Hi! Welcome to Kate’s Quickies!

Nothing matters more to me as a writer than spinning a tale that takes my reader far from their everyday world.  Someday I hope to craft a story so engrossing my reader can’t bear to turn away until they close the book and then I want them to  sit there for a moment and wish it wasn’t over. Have you ever felt that way when you read a book?

As a reader I want the author of every book I buy to succeed. I want the author to craft a tale so seamlessly I’m inside their protagonist’s skin visiting a compelling story world that takes me away. Show me a new way to look at my world by allowing me into your protagonist’s world and I’ll happily go along for the ride.

Lisa Cron author of Wired for Story does a beautiful job of explaining why we humans crave a good story and how to go about creating and crafting one.

I try to learn as much from the works that don’t move me as the stories that do but sometimes I can’t quite put my finger on why a particular book didn’t work for me. I think now I’ll be looking at what I’m reading through another lens. Each chapter ends in a checklist of skills in which to judge your own work.

Hook my brain into your story, your book, and you’ll have a reader for life:) I’ll try my best to do the same for you. Check out Lisa Cron’s equally terrific website and blog: Wired for Story | The Writer’s Guide to Using Brain Science to Hook Readers from the Very First Sentence

If you’d like to share a great book you’ve read recently, and share your thoughts about what makes for a great story, please do.

Enjoy your weekend, breathe and go write something good!

Kate~

