Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Welcome to Kate’s Quickies! This is the place where you get one or two writing links so you can quickly get on with your day and do the things you love — like write.

So how’s your week been? My week was busy-crazy but busy-crazy in a good way. Lunch with a dear friend who I haven’t seen in a year was definitely a highlight AND today my sis-in-laws are having a wedding shower for my daughter.  In my writing life I’m presently writing a synopsis. Ugh. In my reading life I’m reading Thinking Write by Kelly L. Stone, lots of synopsis books too numerous to list:) and fiction-wise, I’m reading A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness.

This week’s Quickie if you choose to click on the links, will make you think. It will make you think about what your write, how you write it and what you can do to improve your craft.

Jessica Page Morrell is an author, writing coach, freelance editor and columnist for The Writer and Writer’s Digest magazines. I highly recommend any of her writing craft books, but here are three that I return to again and again;

Thanks But This Isn’t For Us: A (Sort of) Compassionate Guide to Why Your Writing is Being Rejected

Between The Lines

Bullies, Bastards and Bitches: How To Write The Bad Guys of Fiction

Her website jessicamorrell.com is the go to website to find out things like 25 Reasons Your Manuscript Is Being Rejected. Ouch! As an editor and teacher, she’s seen it all.  Over at Jessica’s place you aren’t going to get the standard pat answers you might hear at writer conferences. She always goes for the deeper truth, explains why and how to fix it in an unflinching honest manner. Speaking of deeper truth, she’s also doing a series on her website called Bitter Truths, things you should know as an author but might not want to hear:)

The post this week on her blog Writing Life Too  Write For Potency is a mini-writing class in itself. Excellent and helpful!

If you’re ready to dive deep into your craft, Jessica is a great teacher. To be honest, I don’t visit her site or blog nearly enough but I’m making a vow right now and writin’ it in my planner to grab my beverage of choice ( a nice glass of red comes to mind:) and do so at least one evening a week. Join me!

Enjoy your day, breathe and go write something good!

Kate~

Coming up mid-week: a breakdown of Kelly L. Stone’s out of the ordinary writing books

