Tags

, , , , , ,

Give sorrow words; the grief that does not speak whispers o’er the fraught heart and bids it break. MacBeth

I’m sorry I haven’t been around much. On April 2nd my Mom passed away and it’s been a tough couple of weeks. Mom was a sweet, fun woman who was also one of the most optimistic people I will probably ever know. One of her failsafe messages is in the title of this blog post; “let’s make this a happy time.”  She never meant it to sound trite or a Polly Anna answer to the pain we all must feel and overcome at different points in our lives. She meant it as a call to live for today, find the strength to work out the rough spots and strive towards what makes you happy, even in the worst of circumstances.

Today, in spite of the vague uncomfortable feeling that there’s a part of me missing that I’ll never retrieve,  I’m going to honor Mom by making this a happy time and tell you about four remarkable young men who call themselves The Buried Life. photo from zap2it.com

Taking their cue from the poem The Buried Life by Matthew Arnold which warns against living a life that’s not your own or “buried”, these four guys from British Columbia, brothers Jonnie and Duncan Penn and their friends Dave Lingwoood and Ben Nemtin set off to achieve the 100 items on their bucket lists and most remarkable of all work to help others achieve their own wishes.  They’ve done everything from play basketball with Obama to help a young man raise money for a kidney transplant.

I’m coming late to The Buried Life’s party, they’ve had a show on MTV for two years and I just heard about them a couple of weeks ago in USA Today. Oy! Waaay late.

However, they just released a book in March. Part inspiration and part poster art, their book also asks the question, “What Do You Want To Do Before You Die?”

Have you made a bucket list of things you want to do? I made my own list several years ago. At the top of the page is my number one goal, to make my dream of being a published author come true. I’m working tirelessly on that one 🙂

The second and third things on my list have to do with my Mom. Number two is to take a road trip with my husband across Eastern Canada to my Mom’s hometown of North Sydney, Nova Scotia to visit with relatives, see the old sights, and also to relive the long road trip that me, my brothers and sister used to take with Mom and Dad when we were kids.  My last visit to Cape Breton took place 30 plus years ago!  I’m happy to say that hubby and I are going in 2013. photo from pedalsandsea.comNumber three on my list is to find out anything I can about my Mom’s Mom, my grandma, who died when my mother was a little girl. Sadly, very little is known about her (we know she was born in either Liverpool or Edinburgh) and my attempts to find her in ancestry records always hits a dead-end. I haven’t given up trying…her name was Kathleen Eunson… just in case serendipity strikes and one of you have a relative with the same last name. Wouldn’t that be incredible?

I’d like to end my post today with one of my favorite quotes and a thank you to my Mom for teaching me these lessons long before I ever read Edith Wharton’s words.

In spite of illness, in spite even of the archenemy sorrow, one can remain alive long past the usual date of disintegration if one is unafraid of change, insatiable in intellectual curiosity, interested in big things, and happy in small ways.” Edith Wharton

Thanks Mom. I love you.

Now it’s your turn to make this a happy time:) Do you have any lessons from a  departed loved one that you’d like to share? I’d love to hear their messages. What are the top three items on your bucket list?

Have a happy, healthy day!

Hugs, Kate ~

