Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Just another Magic Monday… and today I’m asking for a huge favor.

On the advice of a terrific agent and two well-respected editors, I’m in process of taking the premise of my present time travel manuscript and expanding it into a bigger book by opening the dimensions of plot and character AND working it into a series where my kick-butt heroine has a recurring role.

Charlize Theron as Aeon Flux

 Since I haven’t read a series in a while and I haven’t read a series with a recurring heroine in ages, I’m asking you for your recommendations.

Just so you know I’m not lazy and asking you to do all my homework <G> I did Google  “book series with strong heroines”  and came up with this partial list.

The Mercedes Thompson series by Patricia Briggs (urban fantasy)

The Jill Kismit series by Lilith Saintcrow (fantasy)

The Weather Warden series –Rachel Caine (this one came up twice on Good Reads as a must read)  Fantasy or Science Fiction, not sure —

The Rose Hathaway series – Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead (Y.A.)

Right now, I’m reading the first in Jacqueline Carey’s Loup Garron series, Santa Olivia which I’m very excited about. I’m only 60 or so pages into the book and the author managed to suck me into a story and a character I might not have ordinarily read.  Now that’s a skill I’d like to hone. Wouldn’t you? I’M so JEALOUS of her skill in plot development and character! <G>  

I’m off to a great start with Santa Olivia but I’d love to hear your reading recommendations. In the book world, word of mouth is everything. It’s one of the reasons writers use social media.  I’m game to read any genre except horror as long as it’s a series with a recurring kick-ass heroine.  I want to know about characters and plots that excited you so much you couldn’t wait until the next book came out.

If you’ve read any of the books on my partial list and can give me a thumbs up or down that would help too. And if you happen to be working on a series with a continuing character please let me know how it’s going. If you’ve written a series, feel free to recommend your books and include a link. It’s always fun to know who’s working on similar projects.

Whew! I know I’m asking a lot here. I’m excited to hear about all the great books you’re reading and writing! In the next month or so I’ll create a separate Kick-Ass Heroine In a Series blog page here at Hanging By A Moment.  Thanks!

 Kate~

 

 

